by | Published:

What Are Tarot Cards and How Can They Change Your Life?


Harry Potter has his magic wand, while psychics have tarot cards. If you have seen psychics at work, you may have seen them shuffling through a pack of cards before passing information to their clients.

Firstly, you should understand that tarot cards aren’t your regular playing cards. Fortune tellers and other psychics have used these cards as a divination tool for centuries.

But what makes these cards special, and can they truly change your life? We will cover all of these and more.

What Are Tarot Cards?

Tarot cards are a divination tool used for offering spiritual insights and predictions. Though they started as playing cards in the 15th century, they have become an essential tool for psychics.

There are various tarot decks today, but they all have the same concept. A tarot deck contains 78 cards split into two categories; the Major Arcana and the Minor Arcana. Each tarot card has its story and interpretation.

Now let’s take a closer look at the two categories of tarot cards:

Major Arcana Tarot Cards

There are 22 Major Arcana cards in the tarot. As their name suggests, these cards are the deck’s foundation. They have deeper meanings and represent the various archetypes known to man. A tarot reader may do a reading with just the Major Arcana tarot cards.

We number the Major Arcana tarot cards from 0 to 21, starting with the Fool and ending with the World. The Fool begins the journey in naivety but gets vital life lessons that help it to attain enlightenment. Hence, the cards create a storyline known as the fool’s journey, representing our path through life.

Here is a list of the Major Arcana tarot card meanings:

  • The Fool (0): This tarot card symbolizes innocence, fresh starts, risk, naivety, curiosity, freedom, potential, etc.
  • The Magician (i): The Magician symbolizes manifestation, willpower, trickery, desire, illusion, etc.
  • The High Priestess (ii): It represents feminine power, intuition, human wisdom, repressed feelings, etc.
  • The Empress (iii): The Empress in tarot cards represents fertility, nature, motherhood, care, dependence, abundance, etc.
  • The Emperor (iv): It signifies authority, leadership, fatherhood, protection, dominance, etc.
  • The Hierophant (v): It symbolizes ethics, tradition, convention, natural law, subversiveness, etc.
  • The Lovers (vi): The card represents relationships, harmony, partnerships, union, love, etc.
  • The Chariot (vii): It symbolizes change, direction, progress, control, determination, relocation, triumph, etc.
  • Strength (viii): It signifies inner strength, bravery, vitality, passion, discipline, focus, etc.
  • The Hermit (ix): The Hermit card represents solitude, inner wisdom, self-discovery, reflection, spirituality, loneliness, etc.
  • The Wheel of Fortune (x): The Wheel of Fortune signifies breakthrough, success, wealth, luck, good fortune, inevitability, etc.
  • Justice (xi): The Justice card indicates justice, truth, balance, realignment, fairness, karma, clarity, etc.
  • The Hanged Man (xii): This card signifies a fresh perspective, surrender, release, consequence, martyrdom, sacrifice, etc.
  • Death (xiii): The card symbolizes endings, detachment, transition, rebirth, new phases, etc.
  • Temperance (xiv): The Temperance card represents integration, patience, moderation, inner transformation, quiet growth, middle path, etc.
  • The Devil (xv): It indicates earthly desires, materialism, addiction, entrapment, toxic relationships, etc.
  • The Tower (xvi): It symbolizes a poor foundation, chaos, sudden upheaval, trouble, unexpected change, etc.
  • The Star (xvii): This card represents renewed hope, inspiration, healing, faith, rejuvenation, etc.
  • The Moon (xviii): It represents the subconscious mind, mystery, illusion, confusion, etc.
  • The Sun (xix): Like the sun, this card radiates light and positivity. It indicates vitality, celebration, happiness, good luck, etc.
  • Judgment(xx): It symbolizes fairness, reckoning, objectivity, revelation, awakening, clarity, etc.
  • The World (xxi): The final card in the Major Arcana is all about completion, wholeness, end of cycles, fulfillment, closure, etc.

Minor Arcana Tarot Cards

The Minor Arcana cards reveal things affecting our daily lives. Though they do not focus on the bigger picture like the Major Arcana cards, they complement them excellently.

We have 56 cards in the Minor Arcana. These cards are divided into four suits; wands, cups, swords, and pentacles. Each suit contains 14 cards, which include ten numbered cards and four court cards (king, queen, knight, and page).

Suit of cups

The suit of cups relates to emotions, intuition, and relationships. Its element is water. When pulled, the cups cards may discuss your relationships or inner world.

Suit of wands

Represented by fire, this suit symbolizes action, passion, and determination. The cards are filled with energy and can provide insights into your creative potential and show you how to achieve it.

Suit of swords

The swords suit originates from the air. It deals with the mind and intellect. In readings, these cards can tell us about our thought processes, logical mistakes, and conflicts.

Suit of pentacles

Earth is the element of the suit of pentacles. They usually point to material things. These cards can tell you about your finances, career, future, security, etc.

How Do Tarot Cards Work?

Tarot cards can help you answer questions about the past, present, and future. However, the cards do not have a fixed meaning. The reader determines the interpretation of each card intuitively.

During tarot readings, the reader pulls a card with a question in mind. Then, answers the question based on the interpretation of the card drawn.

Uses of Tarot Cards

Tarot cards carry immense power. You can find all the insights, lessons, healing, and guidance you need to live a successful and fulfilled life in a tarot deck. Check out some ways you can use tarot cards below:

  • Choosing a career (Should I study medicine or start a career in music?)
  • Fixing your love life (What can I do to save my relationship?)
  • Finding your soulmate (How can I attract my soulmate?)
  • Clarifying your future (Will this be a good week for me?)
  • Developing strategies (What is the best way to tackle this problem?)

Are Tarot Cards Evil?

Some people stay away from tarot cards due to the fear of dark magic. This is a misconception. Tarot readings require no form of dark magic.

Psychics read tarot cards with the aid of their intuition. So, you don’t have to think of any harmful repercussions.

Can I Read Tarot Cards Myself?

You can learn to read tarot cards, but this process can be long and exhausting. It takes years of practice to become an expert tarot reader.

Fortunately, you can visit The Relationship Psychics to learn all you need to know about tarot readings. You will also be able to chat with expert tarot readers live to experience what a tarot reading is like.

Where Can I Buy Tarot Cards?

Many people say it’s wrong to buy your first tarot cards yourself, but it is just a myth! There is nothing wrong with you buying yourself a tarot deck. You can get a tarot deck from any bookstore selling metaphysical books or order one on Amazon.

Leave a Comment